Prasidh Krishna among three uncapped players named in India squad for England ODIs
India News

Prasidh Krishna among three uncapped players named in India squad for England ODIs

Prasidh Krishna, Suryakumar Yadav and Krunal Pandya are the three new faces in India's ODI squad for the series against England scheduled to commence on March 23.

Karnataka pacer Krishna was the leading wicket-taker for his team in the recently concluded Vijay Hazare Trophy, India's premier List A competition. He registered 14 wickets in seven games as Karnataka reached the semi-finals of the tournament.

The 25-year-old is also a part of the Kolkata Knight Riders outfit in the Indian Premier League (IPL), though he got only a handful of games last year.

Suryakumar made an instant impact with his debut innings in international cricket, managing to smash a match-winning half-century against England in the fourth T20I. Yadav's confident start in Indian colours was typified by a glorious six off his first ball in international cricket.

Meanwhile, Pandya has already represented India in 18 T20Is, making him the most experienced player out of the uncapped trio to be called up to the 50-over unit.

The players missing in action who were earlier part of India's white-ball series in Australia include the likes of Manish Pandey, Ravindra Jadeja, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, Mayank Agarwal and Sanju Samson.

Most of these players are nursing various injuries ruling them out of the England contests while Bumrah was granted leave by the BCCI for his marriage.

Agarwal and Samson have paved the way for Rohit Sharma and Rishabh Pant respectively. The competition for the wicketkeeper slot has thus increased with India's designated ODI glovesman KL Rahul under pressure for his poor white-ball form of late.

Washington Sundar and Shubman Gill have been rewarded for their impressive Test performances over the past couple of months, demonstrating India's bench strength in terms of young talent.

Bhuvneshwar Kumar's last ODI appearance for India was in West Indies a couple of months following the 2019 World Cup. A frequent run of injuries has rendered him unavailable for different stints since then as he makes a return to the national fold as well.

All of the encounters will be held in Pune once the T20I series ends on March 20.

ODI Squad

Virat Kohli (capt), Rohit Sharma (vice-capt), Shikhar Dhawan, Shubman Gill, Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, Hardik Pandya, Rishabh Pant (wk), KL Rahul (wk), Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Krunal Pandya, Washington Sundar, T Natarajan, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammed Siraj, Prasidh Krishna, Shardul Thakur