Sarfraz-Phehlukwayo Incident

Sarfraz apologises to Phehlukwayo in person

Pakistan skipper Sarfraz Ahmed has personally apologised to South Africa all-rounder Andile Phehlukwayo for his inappropriate taunt during the second ODI against South Africa in Durban.

Sarfraz tweeted a picture of himself shaking hands with Phehlukwayo on Friday before the start of third ODI in Centurion. The caption of the tweet read: "This morning I apologised to Andile Phehlukwayo and he was gracious enough to accept my apology and I hope the people of South Africa also accept my apology."

On Thursday, South Africa skipper Faf du Plessis stated that they have 'forgiven' Sarfraz because he apologised immediately.

"We forgive him because he said sorry," du Plessis said. "He has apologised and taken responsibility for it. It is out of our hands and ICC will have to deal with it now."

Timeline: Sarfraz-Phehlukwayo incident: all you need to know

Incident

Sarfraz was caught on the stump mic making a seemingly racist comment towards Phehlukwayo. The incident happened in the 37th over of South African innings in the second ODI at Kingsmead. Phehlukwayo inside-edged the third delivery of the over to deep fine leg for a single. As he ran off to the non-striker's end, Sarfraz was heard on the stump mics saying: "Abey kaalay, teri ammi aaj kahaan baitheen hain? Kya parhwa kay aaya hai aaj?".

This literally translates to: "Hey black guy, where's your mom sitting today? What prayer did you ask her to say for you today?"

Immediately after Sarfraz' comment, commentator Mike Haysman asked Ramiz Raja: "What's he saying there, Ramiz?"

"Difficult really to translate that," Ramiz replied. "It's a big long sentence."

In the post-match presentation, Phehlukwayo, the player of the match, seemed relaxed about having been the target of several comments by Pakistan players. "It was good chat," he said.

Following the uproar on social media, Sarfraz issued an apology on Twitter, claiming his words “were not directed towards anyone in particular and he certainly had no intention of upsetting anyone”.

The ICC has reportedly received a report from match referee Ranjan Madugalle and is currently considering the matter.

RELATED ARTICLES YOU MIGHT LIKE